I Don’t Love You (poem)

For Reece,  my muse. ’nuff said.

Marie

 

I love the colour blue
But I don’t love you
I love the smell of cut grass
The cries of birds that pass
Scything overhead
I love your bed
My head
Pillowed on your shoulder but
I don’t love you.
I love soft summer rain
Kissing on a train
Joined hands and entwined fingers
Your scent that lingers
On my skin
And within
Where passion burns like fire
Alight with desire but
I don’t love you.
I love the way we join
From mouth to loin
Your velvet kisses, caresses
Through my tresses
Shared breath
Passed between us but
I don’t love you.
I love the way you walk
Your clever talk
Your brilliance inspires
I admire
From afar
But not too far, but
I don’t love you.
I love the way words fall from your tongue
It strikes me dumb
Your wit and dash
Such panache
Your humour’s dry –
So wry, but
I don’t love you.
As a candle to the sun is love
To what you have become
To me
So I’ll be
Sharing my heart in those places
Those spaces
Between the words
I’ll pause
And give you cause
To know what I feel for you
Because
It’s not love.

 

 

About Marie

An eccentric & quirky artist and writer who fills her time between fantasy roleplaying sessions with painting, writing and playing her guitar (rather badly). Usually to be found with paint-stained fingers surrounded by books and tubes of acrylic paint.
This entry was posted in Poem, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Don’t Love You (poem)

Leave a Reply

