Searching For Unicorns (poem)

Those childhood tales of dark and light
Whilst warm in bed and tucked up tight
Of Knights in armour on their steeds
Both pure of heart and strong in deed
Of breadcrumb trails and witches’ wrath
And never straying from the path
And yet my heart was always drawn
To tales of love and unicorns

Those lazy summer woodland strolls
We’d check each bridge for lurking trolls
And search each toadstool left and right
For tiny doors or faerie light
We’d never play in mushroom rings
For fear of gnomes and faerie kings
But most of all I’d search the trees
For glimpse of white beyond the leaves

All through the years of growing up
I never gave the magic up
I heard the hooves upon the turf
I saw them dancing in the surf
In dreams I glimpsed the spiralled horn
That longed for, fabled unicorn
And though my longing grew each day
The years were passing day by day

Through many years and shattered dreams
And hollow-hearted empty schemes
That dream of magic slipped away
Exactly when I could not say
I never noticed it had gone
Just emptiness where hope had shone
And all the colours turned to grey
And warmth was gone from every day

Until one day I heard his voice
He offered me another choice
A life of plenty, not of lack
He’d given me the magic back.
I felt it springing in my soul
It made me more than ever, whole
The sorrow lifted from my heart
As love, it pierced me like a dart.

We spend our lives on unicorns
So smooth of coat and white of horn
On fairy tales and lands of lore
So broken hearted, wanting more
But unicorns come in disguise
Unrecognised by human eyes
Instead just look with open heart
And then you’ll never be apart.

About Marie

An eccentric & quirky artist and writer who fills her time between fantasy roleplaying sessions with painting, writing and playing her guitar (rather badly). Usually to be found with paint-stained fingers surrounded by books and tubes of acrylic paint.
This entry was posted in Poem, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

