Floor tiles ….

Well, I felt I had to do some model painting as my partner in crime is raising the bar somewhat in this area and I don’t want to get left behind.  Creative rivalry is a great thing for inspiration 🙂

Anyway, I’ve been meaning to paint these floor tiles for a very long time, I think it was about a year ago that I promised to do so… They are metal tiles and either Citadel or Ral Partha, I’m not sure. Well, here they are in all their (dubious) glory!

 

And, as Reece inspired me to do, a small amount of text about them for flavour:

As the party opened the door, they saw the cause of the scuttling sound – a huge bloated spider, its fangs dripping with ichor. Unlike the other spiders they had yet seen, this one was a red colour, with its black and orange markings giving it the appearance of disease and unwholesomeness. Its eight eyes stared back at them with malign intelligence as Flin loosened his sword and prepared to strike the first blow…

IMAG6658_1

 

At last, they came to the oubliette entrance, guided unerringly by Ruth’s screams far below. The sandy earth between the flagstones moved beneath their feet as they approached and they had to take care not to slip on the slick green fungus growing nearby. Eric reached to grab the grating but was stopped by a cry from their party mage. ‘It’s magical, can’t you see it shining! Take hold of that and we’ll be cutting your hand off to free you! Stand back and let me cast a spell!’ 

The trapdoor looked extremely unremarkable in appearance, solid wood bound with silver metal. Nevertheless, he called the thief forward to check for traps. Not finding anything, Griff lifted the latch and as they peered through the door into yawning darkness, a hot animal musk was carried on a draught toward them. This was it. They had found its lair.

And below is a picture of all three for proportion and because you might be interested.

I used a range of paints, some Games Workshop but mostly Citadel… I’ve found that I like the range of colours and they don’t tend to dry up I’ve found like the GW ones. (although they are a swine to get the lid off).

I hope someone has liked my little post, thank you again to Reece for inspiring me to do some painting. It’s been great and it won’t be long now before I do some more. I will pop up on the next post more about the colours I used, the techniques etc but as always dear followers, Don’t Paint Like This… and most of all, Don’t Follow Our Tips 🙂

Signing off for now.

Marie

IMAG6655_1.jpg

About Marie

An eccentric & quirky artist and writer who fills her time between fantasy roleplaying sessions with painting, writing and playing her guitar (rather badly). Usually to be found with paint-stained fingers surrounded by books and tubes of acrylic paint.
This entry was posted in Model painting, Role playing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Floor tiles ….

Leave a Reply

