Twilight Visitor (Poem)

At 4am she woke and saw a ghost stand by her bed

But was it real or some illusion conjured from her head? 

It seemed to her she recognised the look upon his face

And when he spoke her mouth was dry,  her pulse began to race

‘three score and ten was not for me,  he mournfully declared

The years I spent were all in vain and I was unprepared

To leave this life with deeds undone and words I should have said 

For me, a short time living but a long time being dead

Materialistic values chasing fame and cars and wealth

When all along I let slip by true love and friends and health 

It’s true,  a golden idol was the heart of all my dreams 

A ruthless way of living,  full of plots and schemes

My time is growing short and in a moment I depart

I implore you make a promise to your donor’s broken heart

For now my heart beats in your chest and in your veins does dance

You’ve given me, in living on, a precious second chance’

A breath of wind,  a wordless sigh,  a sweetness on the air

And with a scent of roses,  he’s no longer standing there

This poignant twilight visit she would carry all her life

Because of him,  her husband can still say he has a wife.

 

Marie 

About Marie

An eccentric & quirky artist and writer who fills her time between fantasy roleplaying sessions with painting, writing and playing her guitar (rather badly). Usually to be found with paint-stained fingers surrounded by books and tubes of acrylic paint.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twilight Visitor (Poem)

  1. Kiersten says:

    There’s definately a lot to know about this subject.
    I really like all of the points you’ve made.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

