What Am I Trying To Achieve?

I was asked today what I am trying to achieve with the quick doodles and sketches that I have been posting.   Let’s be frank, they’re not very impressive so far!    It’s a valid question and so I thought I’d answer it here for you,  too.   None of the art has been a studied,  finished piece,  it’s all very fast sketches of random subjects.  It certainly doesn’t show off my artistic talent in its best light!

There are a lot of blogs and websites with finished pieces of art which are both impressive and inspiring.  However,  I wanted to do something different.   I want to be completely honest with my followers about the process I go through –  not implying that any other sites are dishonest,  obviously.  All these quick sketches and doodles are part of the various techniques I use to improve my skills and give me ideas for finished paintings.   I don’t want to just post finished art,  I want you to be with me on the journey,  too.   I hope it might be interesting to those of you who are artistically inclined and not,  also.   There will be mistakes and crossing out and just pieces of art I am not happy with BUT I will post them up so you can perhaps gain something.  Warts and all.   Maybe we’ll all learn something along the way.

I would really love feedback on my thoughts if anybody feels so inclined,  thank you.

About Marie

An eccentric & quirky artist and writer who fills her time between fantasy roleplaying sessions with painting, writing and playing her guitar (rather badly). Usually to be found with paint-stained fingers surrounded by books and tubes of acrylic paint.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Am I Trying To Achieve?

  1. Pingback: What am I doing? | DontPaintLikeThis

Leave a Reply

